Sydney’s Rainy Christmas 2011: A wash out

Posted by on December 23, 2011 in Arts & Culture, Fashion, Festivals & events, Food & drink, History, Inner West Sydney, Shopping, Small tours, Sydney City, Thrifty tips | 0 comments

Sydney’s Rainy Christmas 2011: A wash out

What is going on with this weather?! Sydneysiders and tourists, we have been ripped off this Summer and Christmas season!

Lucky there are lots of things to do out of the rain in Sydney.

Below are 5 suggestions to entertain you while keeping dry over the Summer.

1. Shopping

There is no end of shopping options throughout Sydney. For fashion bargains I like DFO in Homebush (www.dfo.com.au) and Birkenhead Point (www.birkenheadpoint.com.au). Kmart (www.kmart.com.au) and Big W (www.bigw.com.au) keep me entrained for ages and have everything under the sun. I do love bargains shops – at the moment they have fantastic Christmas decorations. Check out Hot Dollar (www.hotdollar.com.au), Go Lo (www.golo.com.au), and the Reject Shop (www.rejectshop.com.au). If you prefer online shopping go to the iconic Peters of Kensington (www.petersofkensington.com.au) for home wares and Ecoya (www.ecoya.com.au) for the most gorgeous soy candles (which you’ll want to eat … but please don’t!) Style Tread (www.styletread.com.au) is shoe diva heaven.

2. Be culture vultures

Get arty at The Art Gallery of NSW (www.artgallery.nsw.gov.au) and the Australian Museum (http://australianmuseum.net.au/) has the Wildlife Photographer of the Year on until 18 March 2012. The Maritime Museum (www.anmm.gov.au) is right next to Darling Harbour and has fantastic exhibitions with an amazing gift shop. All the Heritage Houses Trust (http://www.hht.net.au) properties are fantastic and always have somewhere to grab a coffee and also have great gift shops. Sydney’s libraries (in both the city and suburbs) are a fantastic place to find free entertainment including free workshops and talks with authors. I have a soft spot for the State Library (www.sl.nsw.gov.au). The Sydney Festival (www.sydneyfestival.org.au) starts in January and has lots of options for indoors at venues across the city and suburbs.

3. Movies

The Dendy at Circular Quay (www.dendy.com.au) is a great place to escape rainy weather. It’s walking distance from Circular Quay station and is also not far from the Opera Bar (in case you need a cocktail while watching the rain belt down over the Harbour and Bridge). There Deny in Newtown is also near public transport and has oodles of food and fashion options nearby.

4. High tea

There are lots of high teas to choose from in Sydney. Go to the High Tea Society for ideas (www.highteasociety.com.au). I like the Swissotel (http://bit.ly/jJjrBO) which runs it’s high tea from 2pm – 4pm, 7 days a week. It’s across from the State Theatre (http://bit.ly/uFEYgk) which runs tours on Mondays, Tuesdays and Thursdays at 10am and 1pm. Maybe do the 10am theatre tour, then shopping or lunch at Pitt St Mall or the Queen Victoria Building, then have high tea. Don’t have a big lunch before tucking into mountains of cakes and a chocolate fondue fountain.

5. Food, glorious food

Eat yourself silly at Sydney’s fantastic restaurants and cafes. I use Urban Spoon (http://bit.ly/3LafKp) and Eatability (http://bit.ly/5suwA) to track down the nearest spots to dine. Or maybe go on a foodie tour. I’ve always wanted to go on Gourmet Food Safaris tours (www.gourmetfoodsafaris.com.au). This company is run by celebrity foodie Maeve O’Meara and many of their tours are indoors and involve mini buses rather than walking. Get on their email newsletter for lots of mouth-watering ideas.

Good luck and don’t forget to take your pocket umbrellas wherever you go this Summer in Sydney. What a dud! Ripped off, Mother Nature!  That said, if it turns into a heatwave in we’ll all be moaning then.

Sydneysiders – any other tips for rainy Summers?

Leave a Comment